SERO Project and Positive Women’s Network-USA Announce Scholarships for HIV Is Not A Crime III



**FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE**

Contact: Ken Pinkela, ken.pinkela@seroproject.com or Jennie Smith-Camejo jsmithcamejo@pwn-usa.org

November 1, 2017: Sero Project and Positive Women’s Network-USA are thrilled to announce the opening of scholarship applications for HIV Is Not A Crime III National Training Academy, being held June 3-6, 2018, in Indianapolis. The scholarship application will open two hours after the webinar ends on Nov. 30, and applications will due by the end of the business day on January 12, 2018. We will hold a webinar on November 30, 2017, at 3 pm ET/2 pm CT/1 pm MT/12 pm PT to offer tips and answer questions.

HIV is Not a Crime III, which will be held June 3-6, 2018, in Indianapolis, will unite and train advocates living with HIV and allies from across the country on laws criminalizing people living with HIV and on strategies and best practices for repealing such laws. Skills-building training, with an emphasis on grassroots organizing, advocacy, coalition-building and campaign planning, will leave participants with concrete tools and resources to work on state-level strategies when they return home.

According to Kamaria Laffrey, chair of the scholarship working group and Sero Project’s Florida community organizer, “We will be reading and discussing every question on the application to provide information intended to help potential applicants fill out the application.” Anyone interested in submitting a scholarship application is required to attend the webinar or watch the recording.

“This year, we are excited to announce that HINAC III will also include the Black United Leadership Institute (BULI), an intentional space created to elevate leadership of Black people, especially people living with HIV, in state-level efforts to address HIV criminalization,” said Arneta Rogers, BULI co-chair and Policy Director of Positive Women’s Network – USA.

The scholarship application and webinar recording will be available two hours after the end of the webinar. Register for the scholarship webinar here: http://www.anymeeting.com/PIID=ED52D880834F31

Are you interested in providing financial support for this important event? Please contact Sean Strub, SERO Project (sean.strub@seroproject.com) or Naina Khanna at Positive Women’s Network – USA (naina.khanna.work@gmail.com) for more information. Questions? Please contact Tami Haught, SERO Organizer and Training Coordinator, at: tami.haught@seroproject.com.

About the Author:

Leave A Comment